Welcome to Adasam!

Spacemen 3 'Recurring'

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

As the last album before their unfortunate demise, this represents not only a significant part of Spacemen 3's history - but also the future of Spacemen 3 protagonists Jason Pierce and Pete Kember. The first half of the album is written by Pete Kember and clearly shows the direction he wanted Spacemen 3 to move - a direction he was later to explore with great success in his early Spectrum work and later with his more experimental 'Experimental Audio Research'.

Splitting the two halves is a true Spacemen 3 cover of Mudhoney's 'When Tomorrow Hits' serving as a perfect reminder of when the band were working together in their fantastic early years.

Jason Pierces' half is a much more epic affair, very much the opposite direction to Sonics minimalist approach and showing the love of highly arranged music he was to favour with Spiritualized. Jasons' material features sweeping effects and blues style riffs which were later to form the basis of his next project 'Spiritualized', along with gospel choirs he became renowned for.

Rumour has it that Jason had already begun planning his next project with members Carruthers and Mattock before Spacemen 3 had officially dissolved. However much the arguments had spoiled the partnership and heart of Spacemen 3, they couldn't avoid making the same fantastic music throughout their history. Music which has yet to find a true successor and still influences artists today. Packaged in high quality artwork and re-mastered to the same high standards that saw Spacemen 3 'Forged Prescriptions' feature in the Top 5 'Collectables of 2003' in Magnet Magazine. Spacemen 3 'Recurring' is yet another vital step in the history of Spacemen 3.

British early 1990s neo-psychedelia/dronebient became known as "space rock" largely because of these guys, and here's why. This is their last album before Jason Pierce left to form Spiritualized, its 2004 reissue restores an essential missing link in the history of space rock and psychedelia.

Editorial reviews
[T]he album showcases two drone maestros at the height of their hypnotic powers.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • orbit012cd


1. Big City (Everybody I Know Can Be Found Here)
2. Just To See You Smile (Orchestral Mix)
3. I Love You
4. Set Me Free/I’ve Got The Key
5. Set Me Free (Reprise)
6. Why Couldn’t I See
7. Just To See You Smile (Instrumental)
8. When Tomorrow Hits
9. Feel So Sad (Reprise)
10. Hypnotized
11. Sometimes
12. Feelin’ Just Fine (Head Full Of S**t)
13. Billy Whizz/Blue 1
14. Drive/Feel So Sad
15. Feelin’ Just Fine (Alternative Mix)