Welcome to Adasam!

Spacemen 3 'Forged Precriptions'

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

"As I sit writing this it’s 10 years to the day since we were making this record and the sun shines hard and bright just like it did at the time. The last 10 years seem simultaneously to be merely the blink of an eye and yet also a whole lifetime. Much has changed for the better and the worse.

It thankfully seems a long time since the drug busts of the Thatcherite "just say no" era and its strange to remember the first ecstasy parties around this time and recall its novelty before it became a cultural icon.

Its also strange how this body of material has come to be meaningful to a whole subculture - exactly the people we hoped to live, love, cry and die with. Maybe, just maybe, this is the way it was meant to be - equally sad, joyful, destructive and generative. This is Spacemen 3 in bloom, midsummer before the seeds were scattered. Right at the point where we worked together well, and, in compliment to each other. I still have strong memories of days where we would crash out listening to nothing but one song over and over making hypno-monotony from slices of hypno-monotony. Mattresses were installed into the studio’s lounging space and our kaleidoscopic light show stayed on throughout the session, permanently focused on the studio’s revolving mirror-ball, myriad rays of micro-psychedelic worlds (and whirls) mixing with our minds and music. Actually the projector’s fan noise permeated most of the recording and was considered an unfortunate but necessary evil.

I also remember spending several hours lying on the floor wearing headphones and having our Thai-grass addled humour fed through the echo machine and back to our ear goggles inducing a feedback of echo, laughter and stupidity. I wish I had it on tape - this sort of unusual activity and experimentation definitely contributed to pieces like "Ecstacy Symphony" and "Transparent Radiation". Slightly darker and sometimes less benign feelings contributed to the more macabre songs like "Call The Doctor", "Ode To Street Hassle" and "Things’ll Never Be The Same", showing the inevitable contrast in our lives and our experiences at the time.

When some of this material was first released it oozed out to little acclaim and only slight acceptance by a clued-in few. It was a great disappointment to us. We felt we had managed to trap a portion of our souls into the micro-fine grooves of the original Glass release (symbolically somehow caught forever like a fly in amber and preserved - a moment in time and mood).

We spent several months, broken only by touring, recording and re-working these pieces until we felt they were ready slowly learning more about the studio and its techniques as we went. These versions show some variation to the original release, which was more stripped. Many different takes and versions were experimented with - "Walking With Jesus" had been an all fuzz, tremelo and feedback song before these sessions.

Here at last are the full guitar laden versions with all the layers of beautifully streamlined guitar - considered by us to be too hard to replicate live and therefore reduced for the original release. Also included for the first time are some unreleased covers, demos and tributes from the same sessions.

For me, this is where Spacemen 3 songwriting came to a head - many of these songs pre-dated "Sound Of Confusion", some were even recorded at both sessions, but I am still impressed mightily by Jason’s lyrical genius on originals like "Walking With Jesus" and re-writes like "Come Down Easy" and his fluid guitar playing across the whole sessions.

To be sure "Playing With Fire" was soon to be our long and sultry Indian Summer but "Perfect Prescription" was the progeny of that hot, lazy (and occasionally rainy) summer.

Sonic Boom


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • orbit006cd


Disc One
1. Things'll Never Be The Same
2. Walking With Jesus
3. Come Down Easy (Demo Version)
4. Transparent Radiation (Single Version)
5. Ode To Street Hassle
6. Call The Doctor
7. Ecstacy Symphony
8. Feel So Good
9. Soul 1

Disc Two
1. Transparent Radation
2. Come Down Easy
3. Walking With Jesus (Demo Version)
4. Things'll Never Be The Same (Demo Version)
5. We Sell Soul (Previously Unreleased)
6. Starship (Demo Version)
7. Take Me To The Other Side (Demo Version)
8. Velvet Jam (Previously Unreleased)
9. I Want You Right Now (Previously Unreleased)